Snapchat is one of the most popular and widely used social media platforms. Originally, it was a photo sharing app that allowed users to send photos and videos to each other that only lasted a few seconds. The social network has now undergone various updates and has almost completely changed its interface.
If you’re a veteran Snapchat user, you’ll remember that there was a time when the only way to have a conversation on Snapchat was to send snaps. Today, in addition to the introduction of text messages, audio and video calls, Snapchat has recently allowed users to save and delete messages from conversations.
However, Snapchat has always been known for its transparency, and you cannot secretly screenshot, save or delete Snapchat messages – the app informs other users of this.
So, if you want to know how to delete Snapchat messages without them knowing, you have to read on.
How to delete Snapchat messages?
If you are new to the app or haven’t got used to the latest updates yet, let us explain how to delete Snapchat messages.
If you want to delete a certain message from a conversation, here is what you need to do.
- Open the Snapchat app on your phone and swipe left to open the window with all conversations.
- Here you will find a list of friends with whom you have recently exchanged snaps or conversations on Snapchat.
- Now open the conversation whose messages you want to delete.
- Once you have opened the conversation, find the individual message you want to delete. Note that you can only delete messages you’ve sent, not those you’ve received.
- Long press on this individual message until a pop-up appears. In this window you will find several different options; the last option will be “Delete”.
- Press “Delete” and the message will no longer appear in your chat. However, the other person will be informed that you deleted a certain message.
If you want to delete Snapchat messages without the other person finding out, there is not much you can do. However, we can help you erase some conversations.
How to delete a conversation from Snapchat?
There are two methods to clear Snapchat conversations. Let us explain both to you.
Method #1: Use Conversation Window
This is an easy method to delete a certain conversation from your Snapchat.
- Open the Snapchat app on your phone.
- Once it is open, click on the chat icon or swipe right and open the chat window.
- Scroll or search and find the conversation you want to delete.
- Long press on this conversation until a pop-up window appears at the bottom of the screen.
- In the pop-up window you will find various options; find “Chat Settings” and you will see a “>” arrow next to it. Click on this arrow.
- When you press this arrow, another pop-up window will appear. You will find “Delete from chat stream” in red on this pop-up.
- If you press this option, the conversation will be deleted from your chat list.
Method #2: Use Settings
- Open Snapchat app on your phone.
- Tap on your Bitmoji at the top of the page, and you will access your profile.
- There, look for the “Settings” icon at the top right and tap on it.
- When you open the settings, scroll down and find “Account Actions”.
- Under “Account Actions” you will find the second option which will say “Clear Conversations”.
- Tap this option to access a list of friends who have had a conversation with you on Snapchat. You will find an “X” right next to the names.
- When you press the cross, the system asks you if you want to delete the conversation from your chat stream. If you select “Delete”, the conversation will no longer appear in the chat window.
However, there are two things to note about using these methods to clear Snapchat conversations:
- Conversations will only be deleted from your Snapchat; the other person will keep the recording of your conversation – you can’t delete conversations from their phone. When you delete a conversation, you only delete it from your phone.
- To delete a conversation so that it is deleted on both sides, you must delete the individual messages, which will notify them.
None of these methods can delete messages saved in the conversation. When you tap “Clear Conversation”, the app informs you that it does not delete messages saved in the conversation.
You will only lose the conversation in the chat list, and all messages, links or images that have not been saved in your chat will be deleted.
How to delete saved messages on Snapchat?
Snapchat offers users to save certain messages in their conversations. However, if you feel like deleting them later, there is an easy method.
- Open the Snapchat app on your phone and swipe left to open the chat window.
- Now scroll down and find the conversation whose messages you want to unsave and delete.
- Open the conversation, and find the messages you saved.
Note: You can tell which messages you have saved from which the other person has saved by looking at the line on the left side of the screen. Each message has a line (red or blue) on the left. If the line is reflected, the message was saved by you; a thin line represents messages saved by the other person.
- Long press the messages you have saved; a pop-up window will appear.
- In this window you will find the option “Cancel in chat”. When you tap this option, the message will no longer remain gray – meaning it is now unregistered from the chat.
- Now there are two things you can do:
- Either you can long press on the message you just unrecorded and delete it. However, doing so will notify the other person that you deleted a message.
- Either you close the discussion and reopen it – you will no longer find the message. This is because unsaved messages on Snapchat disappear within 24 hours.
As you can see, it is almost impossible to delete Snapchat messages without the other person knowing. The app is known for its privacy feature and notifies users about all activities. If you want to delete conversations on your Snapchat, we hope these methods are helpful!