Mobile phones are capable of efficiently managing all the people we keep in our address book. With a single touch we can access not only their phone number but also other information such as their email or address. Sometimes deleting a number from the phonebook becomes an odyssey, as it can be ‘blocked’ and display the message ‘This contact is read-only‘. For this reason, let’s see how to fix this error on any mobile with Android operating system. In the past, we only had a phonebook to store contacts on the SIM. However, today in addition to the card, these can also be saved in the mobile memory, an external card, cloud services or applications such as WhatsApp, Messenger and so on. However, this causes that, on different occasions, third-party software may be preventing us from deleting a particular number from the phonebook of our Android terminal. At this time the famous message ‘This contact is read-only’ will appear. Because of this, we will also see how we can delete any number we have in the fastest way.

The Android bug

The Android agenda application can manage agendas that are shared in one place. This means that a person we have saved, say as an example ‘Peter’, with a specific phone number, is saved on the SIM card. This can make that, an app like WhatsApp, comes to recognize this and creates its own agenda, adding Pedro.

Basically, because it has the necessary permissions through our terminal. And is that, in case of removing access to this function, what we will get will be that all we have in the messaging app appear nameless. So, in this case, it is not worth avoiding it, but to know how to delete them when this failure begins to arise. The other error appears when you start to create duplicate numbers, these are linked together, which causes that in many cases the number is read-only and does not allow us to delete it directly from the app of our terminal. However, sometimes it will be better that they are duplicated than that we have to suffer this failure. However, we will tell you what steps to follow to end either of these two problems on your Android phone.

How do I delete them?

The frustration comes when we try to delete a read-only contact from the phonebook, as the message appears that it is not possible. This happens precisely because the name or number that we have saved exists in several agendas and is linked together.

Unlink them

The easiest method to eliminate the problem and regain control is through the Google application itself. The goal is to get unlink the contacts of those apps or accounts that are causing the blocking, in order to proceed to delete them normally. Therefore, it will be time to follow the following steps from our Android phone:

  1. We open the Contacts application and select a particular person.
  2. Then, we open the context menu (the three little dots) and click on View linked contacts.
  3. Then, click on Unlink.
  4. Now, click again on the same number and, again, tap on the menu of the three dots.
  5. By clicking on Delete you should be able to delete the number that was ‘blocked’.

The only drawback that we can find before this solution is that if we want to delete several people at once, the process must be done manually, ie one by one.

With this other trick

If you do not see the above option Unlink on your Android smartphone (as it will depend on the customization layer), calm because we can still get it with this little trick that we are going to explain below. To do this, you must follow the following steps:

  1. Enter in the app Agenda your smartphone.
  2. Find the person we want to delete.
  3. Click on the Edit option (or on the pencil icon).
  4. Delete the mobile number that appears > Click on Save.
  5. Go back to the contact and tap on the three dots option.
  6. Select Delete > OK.

Reset the mobile

Another option to delete them, although it is a much more drastic way, will be restoring the device to its factory settings. In this way will disappear all those that are linked to each other to be deleted from the internal memory of the phone. Therefore, before performing this operation is necessary that you make sure you have saved the contacts that interest you on your SIM card. In addition to making a backup of all the photos, videos and others that you want to keep on your Android smartphone. Once this is done, we must go to Settings > System > Reset Options > Erase All Data.

Goodbye duplicates

For our luck there is a quick way to remove from our phone all the people who have been stored on the Android device more than once. Although we will not delete them as such, but we will combine them in such a way that they are not constantly repeated on the terminal, but only come out only once. To do this, we will have to do the following steps on our smartphone:

  1. On your Android phone, open the Contacts app.
  2. At the top left, tap Menu (the three horizontal bars) > tap on Merge & Correct.
  3. Tap Merge duplicates. If you do not see this option, it means that you have no people that can be combined, i.e. there are no duplicates. To accept a duplicate contact suggestion, tap Merge. On the other hand, to accept all duplicate number suggestions, go to the bottom of the screen and tap Merge all.

However, if you prefer to choose which numbers you want to merge, you will have to follow the process explained below:

    1. Open the Contacts app on your Android device.
    2. At the top right, tap More (three vertical dots) > Select.
    3. Choose the numbers you want to combine.
    4. At the top right, tap again on the three vertical dots > Combine.